Seminar Archive – 2017

Hilary Term 2017

Monday 16th January
Good governance and multidimensional poverty – A comparative analysis of 71 countries
Dr. Christoph Jindra, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford (joint work with Dr. Ana Vaz, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford)

Monday 23rd January
No seminar this week

Monday 30th January
Incorporating environmental and natural resources within analyses of multidimensional poverty
Dr. Sabina Alkire, Director, OPHI, University of Oxford (joint work with Dr. Géraldine Thiry, Université catholique de Louvain)

Monday 6th February
Inequality aversion, self-interest and MPI: A Ugandan lab-in-the-field experiment
Matthew Robson, PhD student, Department of Economics and Related Studies, University of York

Monday 13th February
Are zeros distinct? Modelling the determinants of (enforced) deprivation for 14 EU countries
Selçuk Bedük, DPhil student, Department of Social Policy and Intervention, University of Oxford

Monday 20th February
Representation of a separable symmetric preorder, with applications to welfare and poverty measurement
Dr. Natalie Quinn, Career Development Fellow in Economics, St John’s College, Oxford

Monday 27th February
Ethnic diversity and multidimensional poverty
Dr. Bilal Malaeb, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford and Dr. Christian Oldiges, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford

Monday 6th March
Title TBA
Dr. Rod Hick, Lecturer in Social Policy, School of Social Sciences, Cardiff University

Michaelmas Term 2017

Monday 9th October
Multidimensional Poverty in Measurement and Policy
Professor John Hammock and Dr Bilal Malaeb, OPHI, University of Oxford

Monday 16th October
Multidimensional Impact Evaluation: The Case of WINGS in Uganda
Dr Bilal Malaeb, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford (Joint work with Eustace Uzor, LSE)

Monday 23rd October
The Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI) and other global indices
Dr Sabina Alkire, Director, OPHI, University of Oxford

Monday 30th October
Walls of Glass. Measuring Deprivation in Social Participation
Dr Nicolai Suppa, Research Associate, TU Dortmund

Monday 6th November
Causal claims to wellbeing improvement: the QuIP quest for better impact evaluation
Professor James Copestake, Department of Social and Policy Sciences, University of Bath

Monday 13th November
Chronic or Acute? Preference-Consistent measurement of Poverty over time
Dr Natalie Quinn, Senior Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford

Monday 20th November
Income and Multidimensional Poverty in Indonesia
Dr Usha Kanagaratnam, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford

Monday 27th November
Multidimensional Poverty and Violence
Dr Christian Oldiges, Research Officer, OPHI, University of Oxford