OPHI Seminars

The Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative held its weekly seminar series last term. The seminar series brings together academic staff and students interested in multidimensional poverty in an informal intellectual and social environment where we will discuss research related to different aspects of the measurement or explanation of multidimensional poverty.

The seminars are held on Mondays from 13:00-14:00 in Seminar Room 2 or 3, Queen Elizabeth House, 3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB. Everyone is welcome, and a complimentary sandwich lunch is available on a first come, first served basis.

Michaelmas Term 2018

There are no seminars currently available.

You can sign up to our mailing list to ensure you're kept up to date, or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Previous Seminars

Monday 26 November
Towards A Global Asset Indicator: Re-assessing the Asset Indicator in the Global Multidimensional Poverty Index
With: Dr. Frank Vollmer (OPHI)

Monday 19 November
Measurement and Decomposition of Multidimensional Work Well-being Inequality in India
With: Ms. Sayli Javadekar, University of Geneva

Monday 12 November
Defining and Measuring Health Poverty
With: Prof. Philip Clarke, University of Oxford

Monday 5 November
A Meta-analysis of Oxfam's Women's Empowerment Projects
With: Mr. Simone Lombardini, Oxfam

Monday 22 October
Poverty Traps and Child Well-being in South Africa
With: Dr. Marisa von Fintel, Stellenbosch University

Monday 15 October
Multidimensional Poverty Reduction in India: Changes over Time
With: Dr. Sabina Alkire (OPHI)

Monday 8 October
The New Global Multidimensional Poverty Index
With: Dr. Sabina Alkire (OPHI) and Dr. Usha Kanagaratnam (OPHI)

Monday 19 March
Child poverty, public expenditure, and social policy in South Asia
With: Dr Abdul Alim (UNICEF)

Monday 5 March
Building a Child MPI
With: Dr Ana Vaz (OPHI-University of Oxford)

Tuesday 27 February
Material Deprivation and Intra-household Allocation across Europe
With: Dr Tania Burchardt (London School of Economics)

Monday 26 February
Incorporating a Delphi Method within Poverty Measurement: A Case Study of West Java, Indonesia
With: Putu Natih (University of Oxford)

Monday 19 February
Income and Multidimensional Poverty in Indonesia
With: Dr Usha Kanagaratnam (Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative)

Monday 12 February
The Cost of Fitting In
With: Professor Jonathan Wolff (Blavatnik School of Government)

Monday 5 February
Multidimensional Poverty Indices for Children from Household Surveys: Lessons and Ways Forward
With: Dr Martin Evans (Overseas Development Institute)

Monday 29 January
Multidimensional Poverty and Violence
With: Dr. Christian Oldiges, OPHI - Oxford University

Monday 15 January
Understanding the Differences between the MPI and MODA
With: Dr. Sabina Alkire, OPHI Director